Unity-Shinedown

Welcome to Music Monday!

On Mondays, I will be posting and analyzing songs. I’m not a musical person, so I’ll be sticking mostly to the meaning in the lyrics.

Today’s musical post is the Shinedown song “Unity,” off their 2012 album Amaryllis. Written by Dave Bassett and band members Brent Smith and Eric Bass, the song is exactly what you would imagine: a call for unity. It starts slow, and almost kind of comforting, before speeding up and turning into a rock ballad.

They say it’s never too late

To stop being afraid

And there is no one else here

So why should I wait?

We need, in these times, to be united.There is a lot of fear in the world-about ISIS, or Trump, or the economy, or American healthcare. It’s good to be afraid, sometimes, as they say in Doctor Who: Fear is a super power.

With that said, Smith sings,

So have you ever been caught in a sea of despair?

And your moment of truth

Is the day that you say “I’m not scared”

Just like last week with our Nothing More song, Smith’s vocals get more of that hard rock sound, and the melody does as well.

Put your hands in the air

If you hear me out there

I’ve been looking for you day and night

Shine a light in the dark

Let me see where you are

‘Cause I’m not gonna leave you behind

So, while the vocals and music are full hard rock now, the message is still touching. The speaker asks for those downtrodden ones to let him pull them through- to bring people together.

If I told you that you’re not alone

And I show you this is where you belong

Again, the lyrics are about uniting people, and showing even the lonely and downtrodden that they belong.

I’ll end here, since this is getting fairly long, but “Unity” is a great song when you’re feeling down. Check out Shinedown.

Am I completely wrong? Do you have a different interpretation? A recommendation for next time? Leave a comment!

Image source credit: By Source, Fair use, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=34551679

Leave a Reply

