Uma Thurman- Fall Out Boy

Welcome to Music Monday!

This was on a pop station, right? That makes it “mainstream.”

Uma Thurman” was released as a single in 2015 a few days before the album American Beauty/American Psycho dropped. The song uses parts of The Munsters theme for the hook, and was written by band members Patrick Stump, Pete Wentz, Joe Trohman, & Andy Hurley, and Liam O’Donnell, Jarrel Young and Waqaas Hashimi:

I can move mountains
I can work a miracle, work a miracle
I’ll keep you like an oath
“May nothing but death do us part…”

She wants to dance like Uma Thurman

Bury me ’til I confess
She wants to dance like Uma Thurman
And I can’t get you out of my head

The song uses a lot of overtly Christian imagery, like moving mountains and miracles, and continues with the reference to Christian wedding vows. There’s also “bury me til I confess” like the Catholic practice.

The chorus is less religious, referencing that Pulp Fiction dance scene and it pulls back to love song with “can’t get you out of my head”

The blood, the blood, the blood of the lamb
Is worth two lions, but here I am
And I slept in last night’s clothes and tomorrow’s dreams
But they’re not quite what they seem

“Blood of the lamb” is a common symbol in Christianity. No idea where “is worth two lions” comes from (nor, apparently, does the all-knowing Google). If I had to hazard a guess, I’d go with the common-untrue-story of Romans feeding early Christians to lions.

“I slept in last night’s clothes and tomorrow’s dreams.” I always liked this line, because I have a habit of passing out in bed with the same clothes I wore that day. Whoops.

You’ll find your way
And may death find you alive
Take me down the line
In Gem City we turned the tide

“You’ll find your way” goes back to “tomorrow’s dreams,” as in a way to tomorrow’s dreams.

The song is crazy catchy, and the album is excellent. Give it a listen!

Am I completely wrong? Do you have a different interpretation? A recommendation for next time? Leave a comment!

Band: Fall Out Boy

Label: Island; DCD2

Producer: Jake Sinclair, Young Wolf Hatchlings

(image credit: By Source, Fair use, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=45140569)

Leave a Reply

