The First Viewing of Episode V

Okay, here we go! This is going to be fairly stream-of-consciousness, because what else can you say about a film that came out 37 years ago?

IT’S A YETI

starwars11

(By the way, these are all pictures I took while watching. I have no rights to these.)

Luke (Mark Hamill) using the Force here is actually pretty adorable! Especially since he’s obviously inexperienced.

Also, Lucas needs to chill with the foreshadowing. Okay, we get it, he chops Yeti’s arm off with a lightsaber…and then Vader chops his hand off with a lightsaber! Such clever, subtle foreshadowing.

Moving on.

star_wars21

Force Ghosts! I love it.

Aww, they said “Rogue Two.” I watched Rogue One about two weeks ago. I was sad. But that’s for another day!

Han (Harrison Ford) and Leia (Carrie Fisher) are adorable. And poor injured Luke being so jeal-

star_wars31

Oh.

star_wars_41

Not going to be that smug come the sequel. (Lucas, doing twincest before it was cool).

Anyway, I’m unsure how Lucas could have thought the audience would root for anything but Han/Leia, because they clearly have a ton of chemistry and the snark is really cute. On top of that, they’re clearly protective of each other.

Plus Luke is gone for half the film. I don’t know about you, but I usually need to see characters together to think they should be together. That’s just a thought.

20170205_2107081

Speaking of, have I gushed about Princess Leia yet? She’s incredible. She’s such a capable leader and a deviation from the normal princesses. I loved that she was the last to leave Hoth, trying to get everyone else off; and then on Cloud City Lando had to drag her away from shooting the Stormtroopers.

Just in general, she’s a princess who does stuff rather than just waits for things to happen. In 1980, none of the new generation of Disney princesses have been released yet (Little Mermaid was 1989), so in the Disney department there was only Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella, and Snow White, not really anyone you want little girls to be like. Anyway, I’m starting to rant, but I just love Leia and everything she is about.

I was going to say the effects aren’t that bad for an 80s movie, and then I saw a close-up of Yoda. And then the worm thing. I changed my mind after that.

Alright so Luke is on his head, going into caves to fight and crap. Great. Then we get this:

20170205_2107411

Luke, honey. Lucas, honey. Luke’s head in Vader’s helmet? Really? Stop.

It’s really way too on the nose, don’t you think? Sure, maybe it’s because I (obviously) know how it ends, but that seems really, irritatingly overdone. Honestly, who thought this was a good idea?

And then it just continues! There’s a really obvious symbol here, and no one talks about it, unless you want to count Yoda telling Luke, “If you leave now, you’ll go Dark Side!” which I guess is what most people would assume that shot meant.

20170205_2108071

Hahahaha.

There’s nothing to say about this really, except I think it’s hilarious.

(Because wordpress wouldn’t let me upload my own video-taking of this clip. Credit to Hansi Burger for the video).

I always heard it “Luke, I am your father!” so even though I’ve heard it before, I was kind of surprised that it was “No, I am your father.” Mandela effect, anyone? I guess it’s something we all picked up on.

So it’s kind of cool that Luke force-called Leia… At the end where Yoda says there is an “other”? Leia is the other.. You will never convince me otherwise. Do you hear me?
N. E. V. E. R.

Alright, so that concludes our first jaunt through Star Wars! Comment your thoughts below!

Director: Irvin Kershner

Story by: George Lucas

Screenwriter: Leigh Brackett & Lawrence Kasdan

Executive Producer: George Lucas

image credit: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ozvJwIuryNI

One thought on “The First Viewing of Episode V

  1. Pingback: Star Wars Episode VI | The Hodgepodge

Leave a Reply

