Hugh Jackman’s Farewell

I’ve adored Hugh Jackman since days of yore, in a movie I can’t mention to my friend. Honestly, I started watching X-Men because I saw him on the front of X-Men: The Last Stand, which in turn led me to the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

And I’m about to say something most people aren’t going to like.

I didn’t like Logan.

(I’m about to spoil everything that you could possibly imagine. Read on with caution.)

Cracked.com has a really good piece on “How We All Saw ‘Logan’ Eleven Years Ago,” and, well, yeah. It is really similar to Children of Men, except it’s mutants not being born instead of normal humans. But I’ll leave that to David Christopher Bell.

Here I want to talk about a few other things:

  • Like the crappy camera angles. Several times-and not when we were watching Gabriela’s phone video-you can catch the camera angles adjusting, generally cropping a wide shot smaller or vice versa. It isn’t the smooth transition that we’re generally used to, and it happens too few times for it to seem like an aesthetic choice.
  • Laura (Dafne Keen) was fantastic as a mini-Wolverine. She had the scowl down pat, and the move where she jumps and lands claws-out in the chest of her enemy is a nice nod. She did an excellent job. But firstly, where she soared through the air, killing left and right, was blatantly edited and a little unbelievable. Then she manages to drive a car…even though we heard Gabriela say these kids have never been outside.

And don’t get me started on the language thing, ok? She’s silent for the first two hours, then only speaks Spanish, and then speaks English. Pick one, guys. Please.

  • The Logan clone was just blah. We get it, Wolverine is the ultimate killing machine and he doesn’t often have a conscience. And the old man fights his younger self. Next.
  • Charles Xavier’s (Patrick Stewart) illness. This is actually on the pro-list, which I’ll get to, but I’m also a person who likes to pick things apart, if you haven’t noticed. The whole unresolved line, where he has a mysterious illness that causes massive seizures that can apparently wipe everyone out, and the good doctor (Richard E Grant) says it’s degenerative…but they don’t say what it is, gets on my nerves. I suppose it could be Alzheimer’s, as the doctor suggested, but why not affirm that?

It’s obviously not all bad. It’s easily the best of the three Wolverine films, and all in all is not bad for Hugh’s, and Patrick’s, final run. Some of my highlights were,

  • No one got better. We’ve seen Logan die a few times, and Dr. Xavier came back once…or twice… so while their deaths didn’t pack quite the emotional punch, I liked that there was no miracle recovery for anyone. Xavier had his moment of clarity at the end, but Logan never got better. He took the serum that gave him one last hurrah, but he was a dying man from the beginning. And they let that lie. I half-expected the stones on his grave to shift at the end, a la X3‘s Magneto, and was pleasantly surprised that they didn’t.
  • Logan is always best when he’s fighting for someone. Xavier hounds him about it somewhere in the middle, about how Logan has never known why he’s doing anything. But that’s not true, is it? When he has a person to fight for, he’s fine-take Rogue in the first X-men. He is a man who needs a person, not a cause, to get behind, and this movie offered that in Laura.
  • We should all know by now that mutants are a symbol for the LGBT+ community, right? So I think it’s interesting that the film has two of the most recognizable characters suffering from deadly, degenerative diseases. One in his brain, one in his body (presumably from the adamantium, Logan finally tells us). Does that sound anything the disease that stereotypically affects the gay community, and how one can live for years with it before wasting away?

I thought so too. So Logan took X-men back to its roots in another way as well. Maybe I walked in with higher expectations than I should have, and nothing would keep me from watching this movie again. It just wasn’t quite the film I wanted it to be.

Needs more Johnny Cash.

(Source credit: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3315342/)

Leave a Reply

