To The Friend That Once Was

(We’ve all grown away from friends. This is a poem to a dying friend/friendship)

I pine for our lost intimacy

When we once were children.

You may not be far away,

But the distance between our hearts is great.

.

You were once my confidant,

My dearest and closest friend,

But now seeing you is like seeing

An acquaintance.

.

We exchange sweet pleasantries,

And I think, maybe we can bridge this…

Because maybe now everyone can know

The deepest secrets in your heart.

.

Yet still, there are things I know

That you have never said to me,

Things you think would disappoint me,

So you seal your lips tight, and hide

.

As if I were your mother!

As if I would hold it over you!

As if disappointment could ever,

Ever overwhelm my love.

.

But maybe you don’t know that,

Or maybe I seem too prudish and upright,

Because you save yourself my imagined displeasure,

And tell your secrets to someone else.

.

But your new confidant

Is loose-lipped, love,

So I hear them anyway,

And I am, honestly, disappointed.

Leave a Reply

